Proving a Workplace Injury
Under Minnesota law, it is not necessary for an injured worker to prove that another party was negligent in causing a workplace injury. However, it is extremely important to meet strict deadlines for reporting the injury and receiving medical care.
After suffering an injury in a workplace accident, you have just 30 days to give notice to your employer that you intend to file for workers’ compensation benefits. In the event your injury is the result of repetitive stress, and not caused by a specific accident on the job, you have 30 days from the date of your doctor’s report of the work-related medical condition.
Employers and your Minnesota workers’ compensation insurance provider will take these deadlines very seriously. Whether you are a full-time employee or part-time worker, your work-related injury will typically qualify you for medical care and some level of wage benefits, depending upon the severity of your disability.